Welcome!

Hello readers! Things may look a little slow around here at Maybe It’s a Map, but they’re about to pick up speed! Over the past few months I’ve been compiling useful tips and tricks that I’ve picked up from experimentation and my co-workers’ tutelage, and so this week I’ll start sharing those tips with you in this site’s first two columns, “Quick Tips” and “ArcOverview.

+ Quick Tips (for Desktop GIS) goal is to showcase neat features or shortcuts that can save you considerable time, mouse clicks, navigating through menus, and thus frustration. I’ll be publishing these once a day, five times a week.

+ ArcOverview‘s goal is to show you neat features of ArcGIS 10 which you may not be aware of, but which offer both the ability to save you time/frustration and enable you to tackle more ambitious projects. The features covered in ArcOverview will have more to them than a Quick ArcTip, so I’ll be posting one of these each week.

I’ve also been picking up some new skills in web mapping, and so I will be sporadically posting my efforts in the eponymous column + “Maybe It’s A Map…?“.

I’ve got plans for some additional columns lined up, which should start coming online once I’ve hit a good stride with Quick Tips and ArcOverview.

Leave a comment